Devangelic - Xul

Italian Brutal Death Metal is on full display when listening to Xul, the fourth full-length album from Devangelic. Formed in 2012, they’ve invested over a decade in crafting their signature sound, working to ensure they know where they fit in the music world, not questioning anything. Ten songs, 39 minutes. That is all it will take them to show you what they are capable of. Take a trip through their minds, follow the path they lead you down, and maybe, just maybe, you’ll make it home safely. No promises, though…

April 7, 2023, Willowtip Records

Band Members:

  • Paolo Chiti – Vocals
  • Mario Di Giambattista – Guitars
  • Alessio Pacifici – Bass
  • Marco Coghe – Drums


  1. Scribes Of Xul
  2. Which Shall Be The Darkness Of The Heretic
  3. Udug-Hul Incantation
  4. Famine Of Nineveh
  5. Sirius, Draconis, Capricornus
  6. Worship Of The Black Flames
  7. Ignominious Flesh Degradation
  8. Hymn Of Savage Cannibalism
  9. Shadows Of The Iniquitous
  10. Sa Belet Ersetim Ki’Am Parsusa

The album opens with eerie sounds, setting the stage for a brutal onslaught. And that is precisely what you get. “Scribes Of Xul” is a lesson in speed. Blast beats dominate the back end, and thunder rules the bottom end, while the guitars are primarily dark, heavy riffs interspersed with melodic, ethereal leads. The voice never strays from the deep growls, does not try to exhibit a range, and just works at hollowing out your soul.

The first song is an indication of what the rest of the album will sound like; Devangelic has a consistent tone to their music. It has a blisteringly fast tempo and a down-tuned mindset for its music. The vocals are harsh, unintelligible delivery to those who are not familiar with the genre.

Key things to note, Devangelic likes to add texture to their songs. The lead guitar work is layered very carefully to add tonality that accentuates the melodies. The ambient incantations and vocalizations offset the ragged brutality of the riff and the voice. These are meant to round the song out with a delicate balance for the heaviness you otherwise experience.

They also use short instrumentals to separate sections of the record. “Famine Of Nineveh” and “Hymn Of Savage Cannibalism” give the ears a quick pause, a chance to rest and reset before the next chapter begins. They use eerie sounds and tones to build a feeling of dread, then launch the next aural assault.

Devangelic does not break character. They do not give you the off-tempo lullaby to try and show a softer side. This album is not going to provide you with respite. Even the instrumentals have their darkness, only giving you a chance to catch your breath, not relax and feel good. This album will ratchet up your angst and exacerbate your longing for all things dark and brutal, but you don’t listen to Brutal Death Metal to chill out. This is how you vent, how you express yourself. Most people will not understand, but with this tribe, you not only exist but also thrive. Devangelic allows you to be yourself in all the ways you need.

MZ Ratings:

  • Musicianship
    • Guitars – 8
    • Rhythms – 8
    • Vocals – 8
  • Songwriting – 8
  • Production – 8
  • Overall – 8.00