Hyperdontia - Deranged

Hyperdontia is a Danish/Turkish Death Metal band formed in 2015. Unafraid of technicality, both in the riffing and lead work, along with the rhythm sections, there is no escaping just how monstrously skilled these guys are. Deranged is their latest offering, a four-song EP of brutality and barbarity meant to assault your ears and leave them ringing. Their riffing is absolutely savage, and the vocals are sublimely sepulchral. Riveting, ruthlessly visceral, and with dynamics aplenty to keep things unpredictable, there is no way anyone couldn’t be gripped by this masterfully menacing music.


Band Members:

  • Mustafa Gürcalioğlu – Lead Guitars
  • Mathias Friborg – Guitars/Vocals
  • Malik Çamlıca – Bass
  • Tuna – Drums

March 15, 2023 – Dark Descent Records https://www.darkdescentrecords.com


  1. Nauseous Hallucinations
  2. Deluded
  3. Gagging In Convulsion
  4. Degradations Of The Flesh

There is no gentle, lilting intro to Hyperdontia’s latest musical offering. “Nauseous Hallucinations” goes for the throat immediately. There is no question this is a Death Metal album; the only wonder is what other elements they will bring in? The answer takes the whole EP to show itself, though. On track one, you get the Brutal Death Metal with tinges of Technical Metal hidden within the blisteringly fast tempo. The drums rarely go below blast beats, but it happens when they need to shift phrasing and quickly check your brain.

For a bit of Melodic Death Metal, give “Deluded” a shot. The primary riff is just as brutal, and the drums just as fast for most of the song, but there are sections where everything slows down, and you get a taste of something different. The bass is totally on point, hitting those changes with astounding precision. Malik even has his time to truly shine, setting up the bridge perfectly.

“Gagging In Convulsion” opens as a total shred-fest. You’d expect it to stay there and blast you right between the eyes, but then there are a couple of spots where they drop, leaving only a drum fill, then hit a chugging Thrash Metal riff. They repeat this trick several times, bringing out a different rhythm and alternate patterns to slightly change things. Then, the lead-in to the guitar solo goes Sludgy, slowing the tempo more than you’d think. It adds a cool twist to the entire EP.

Lastly, “Degradations Of The Flesh” rip through your brain with some Stoner/Doom flair, taking this four-track adventure in another direction. It’s no wonder these guys are respected in their local market. They’ve worked to create something bigger than just a standard Death Metal collection of songs. On this track, just check out the bass lead just before the halfway point; it’s worth hitting the back button a few times to catch all the nuance built into that solo.

MZ Ratings:

  • Musicianship
    • Guitars – 9
    • Rhythms – 9
    • Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 9
  • Overall – 9.00