Judith Alice - Resolute

Judith Alice is a Hard Rock band from Helsinki, Finland, formed in 2015. After years of building a reputation for killer live shows and suffering through a pandemic, they are ready to take the next step and put out new music. Their new EP, Resolute, is five songs packed with great riffs, killer hooks, and groovy melodies. The songs are well-crafted, engaging, and just plain fun to listen to. So raise a glass of your favorite beverage, and let’s toast one of the hot new rock bands emerging on the scene!


Band Members:

  • Skeeter Hazy – Vocals
  • June Stacy – Guitars
  • Vasco – Guitars
  • Eric Jacobi – Bass
  • Aaron Snow – Drums

March 24, 2023 – Secret Entertainment http://www.secretentertainment.fi


  1. Tonite’s Alright (feat. Diison)
  2. Person That I Hate
  3. Watch Out!
  4. Blind Leadin’ The Blind
  5. Close To The Sun

The album opens with muted vocals and drums, getting the song started with an intro done differently. When the song begins in earnest, it’s the exact phrasing for lyrics and music, giving the intro good continuity. There are keyboard tones scattered in, but the riff is king here. The guitar work is excellent. The track has a killer groove, and the rhythm has a great hook. The vocals are clean and delivered with a subdued power that will be realized later.

“Person That I hate” has excellent guitar tones for the intro. Sometimes, the sound produced just gets into your ears and takes root. I love how the drums take the lead from the guitars for part of the pre-chorus, giving some love to the timekeeper. I’ll never not love a prominent drum piece, so kudos to Aaron for making the most of his time to shine.

Again, the riff steals the show for the opening to “Watch Out!” I really had to listen closely to catch the bass in some segments of the song, but there are other times when Eric rides higher in the mix, and you get to hear how absolutely solid he is holding down the bottom end. Every member of this band can handle their business, settling in exactly where they need to be, exactly when they need to be there.

For “Blind Leading The Blind,” Vasco and June turn up the heat and go heavy, then fade to an extended single tone that underpins the vocals beautifully. This song has some nicely layered vocals and harsh tones underneath the gritty cleans. There also appear to be some backing vocals, rounding out the voices for this track. The reductive solo works well, making the song feel slightly darker and more melodic.

Closing the EP out is “Close To The Sun,” a slower song with a haunted tone and feel. The vocal delivery supports the music, giving the style of the guitars a reason to be. There is despair and melancholy in the song, and the violin woven into the composition adds a perfect touch, rounding out the whole thing. This is the song that will stick with me. If and when I show Judith Alice to other music fans, this is the track I will highlight to show them off.

MZ Ratings:

  • Musicianship
    • Guitars – 9
    • Rhythms – 9
    • Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 8
  • Overall – 8.80