Mecha is a West Greenwich, RI-based band that likes to dabble in some seriously brutal cross-over metal. Using everything in the grab bag, from hardcore to heavy to power to punk, they cover a range of musical styles and show they have been influenced by more than just a single style.


Band Members:

  • John English – Vocals
  • Brian Rice – Guitars
  • Robert Rice – Guitars
  • Tom Cat – Bass
  • Michael Colantonio – Drums

Mecha’s self-titled EP was self-released on July 19, 2019.


  1. Hostile Overdose
  2. Black Blood
  3. Razor Revolution
  4. Vulgarity
  5. Downtown Satisfactory

This may be a short collection of songs, but they pack enough punch to satisfy. “Hostile Overdose” is a banger with a killer sludgy section in the middle. The vocals are harsh, the guitars are heavy, and the rhythm is excellent. There is a lot of anger on this track lyrically. Gods are failing us, ideals are worthless, and we all die in the end. Why even bother marking the graves. How many do you go visit in any given year? Face it, the world is a decrepit, worthless pit of despair and agony, and this song makes you feel every bit of that musically as well.

“Black Blood” has a freaking spectacular breakdown. Composed of more anger and hatred, the song is fury and angst, rage and desolation. Again, there is a reference to all of this entering through a vein, indicating life is a drug that will kill you. They said it before, we all die the same, regardless of who you are or what you think/feel. I do believe Mecha is struggling with this whole “life is a party, enjoy it to the fullest” philosophy. I mean, they aren’t wrong. Your blood is poison. It eventually kills you. Some just die faster than others.

If you want to hear more about how society is crumbling, not just your body and soul, “Razor Revolution” will fulfill your needs. The music is still heavy. That has not changed. The twin guitar assault of the Rice’s is mesmerizing. They play with and off each other, depending on the track’s needs. The bass and drums are more than just timekeeping pieces. They accentuate the angst and manage the chaos that is this hardcore mindset. This is living, breathing enmity directed towards humanity on the personal and corporate levels.

“Vulgarity” starts more doom/sludge paced. The theme is “how did you fall for that stupid lie?” Life is again full of anguish, but this time, it’s more from personal fallacy. It is time to wise up and move forward without falling for the lies. Be resolute and make the bastards pay for trying to take you for a ride. The asynchronous guitar work is stellar here. The tones really play off each other and create a sonic dissonance that makes the song feel even darker and heavier. It is brutal and punishing and beautiful all at the same time.

The EP ends on “Downtown Satisfactory,” a song that starts with a phenomenal guitar riff and is, according to the intro for the live video, about “cocaine, strippers and all that shit.” This one has some cleaner vocals, though they are still nice and gritty. This is the song that really gets me pumped. It just checks all the boxes. It has tempo shifts, excellent drums, a killer bass line, and my favorite guitar work on the disc.

Every song on this record has something I like about it. These guys have an infectious energy and write some seriously heavy songs with great grooves and massive hooks. A few killer breakdowns are added for good measure, and you have a recipe for tasty hardcore metal. The blend of elements and styles adds just the right amount of spice to the mix.

I’m looking forward to what these guys do next.

MZ Ratings:

  • Musicianship
    • Guitars – 9
    • Rhythms – 9
    • Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 8
  • Overall – 8.80