Obsidian Tide is a three-piece Technical/Progressive Metal band from Tel Aviv, Israel. Formed in 2012, they combine clean and harsh vocals with a wide variety of different musical styles. Ranging from gentle, almost lilting melodies to incredibly aggressive metal, Obsidian Tide allows your mind to wander through soundscapes that are relaxing, but are not afraid to put a little fear in your ear as well. The intricate guitar solos, coupled with the shifting drum patterns and thundering bass lines in the heavier sections are sure to please Metal fans as much as the lighter passages can appeal to fans of rock.


Band Members:

  • Oz Avneya – Vocals/Guitars
  • Shachar Bieber – Bass/Vocals
  • Erez Nadler – Drums/Programming

September 29, 2023 


  1. Clandestine Calamities
  2. Beyond
  3. The Invasion Of Paradise
  4. Halo Crvsher
  5. The Undying Flames
  6. The Field Of Reeds (Parts I-III)
  7. Miracles (Field Of Reeds Part IV)

One of the first things you will notice about this album if you use a media player that gives the times, you will see there is only one song out of seven under eight minutes. Prog Metal fans, please try to contain your excitement. The beauty of longer compositions is the time they have to roam through a variety of tempos and time signatures. Prog fans all know this is something to anticipate, and Obsidian Tide does not disappoint.

“Clandestine Calamities” is an excellent lead off track, using heavy guitar work in some areas while going almost acoustic in tone in other sections. The drums have variable patterns in the heavier sections, really diving into the Math Metal end of Technical Metal. The bass holds everything steady, laying an incredibly solid foundation. Keyboards accentuate everything, blending into the tone of the song seamlessly.

There is a cohesion throughout the record with the compositions. The similarities tie the whole album together beautifully, crafting a complete record that feels like it flows from one section to the next without the choppiness you get from an album with a bunch of different songs and no real theme. The influences of the musicians also shine through pretty clearly. You hear elements of Rush, Dream Theater, and Tool in different areas and even catch some Genesis and Yes at times as well. These nods to giants are well received and well executed.

Part of what is so good to hear on this album is the variety of instruments. There are strings and horns and flutes along with the standard items you expect to hear. The layered in orchestration is tastefully done, using the different instruments to enhance and augment the tone of the rock instruments. The limits are pushed even further by using both clean and harsh vocals, widening the gap between the calm and peaceful sections and the heaviness of the metal movements.

One of the things I noticed at the conclusion of this album is that “The Field Of Reeds” has a fantastic crescendo near the end of the track, then the final track, “Miracles,” is a reprise of “the Field Of Reeds,” acting like a crescendo for the entire album, not just a song. Well played Obsidian Tide… well played indeed. This shows how inventive the band is and that they really think through the flow and feel of the record as a whole.

MZ Ratings:


  •             Guitars – 10
  •             Rhythms – 10
  •             Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 9

Overall – 9.40