Gun Recoil is a Thrash Metal band formed in Athens, Greece in 2020. After three years, they have finally released their debut EP, Underground Prison. Having formed during a worldwide pandemic, it is no surprise it took this long to get the first record out. Built on the belief that the 80s Bay Area Thrash was one of the greatest eras in music, Gun Recoil seeks to honor that time while establishing its voice. This is a well-rounded Thrash EP ready to take a spot in your current listening rotation.

Band Members:

  • George Geramanis – Vocals
  • Chris Jonis – Rhythm Guitar
  • Theocharis Stefanatos – Lead Guitar
  • John Katsampoulas – Bass
  • Ex-Member: Nikolas Chamarakis – Drums

October 6, 2023 – Self Released


  1. Underground Prison
  2. Streets (4AM)
  3. Can You Beat Reality
  4. Fading Hope
  5. Trigger Happy Leaders

There is a distinct “Classic Thrash” vibe to this EP. The opening riff to “Underground Prison” would be perfectly at home on any Thrash metal album from the 80s. The general tone is very consistent with much of what you might hear from Metallica or Megadeth. The vocals are more reminiscent of Slayer, though, staying away from the cleans of the other Big 3. But enough of comparing, let’s contrast. There are a few shades of Power Metal in the guitar work that add some interesting tonal qualities to the overall sound. I hear those mostly in the solos.

“Streets (4AM)” opens much like “Dawn Patrol” on Rust In Peace. Once the intro passes, the guitars begin stepping into new territory, going up in tempo and intensity, only to launch into a proper Thrash Metal song about a minute in. The bass and drums absolutely nail this transition, going full fury at the drop of a hat. Their ability to shift gears is one of the best elements of the technical aspect of Gun Recoil.

Not to leave any aspect undone, they have a quick instrumental on this record that showcases their softer side. “Fading Hope” is one of those tracks that will lull you into a false sense of serenity before crushing your dreams by taking us directly into “Trigger Happy Leaders.” This is the angry anthem of the record and it fits the tone of the album beautifully. This is not a happy ending, but is that what you want on a Thrash Metal album anyway?

Seriously, Gun Recoil gets the anger level just right on this record. This is vintage Thrash with all the angst it can muster and more than enough attitude to carry the load. After a few trips through the entire record, I am convinced these guys are more 80s Thrash than most 80s bands are right now. This is a killer throwback album that hits just the right tone.

MZ Ratings:


  •             Guitars – 9
  •             Rhythms – 9
  •             Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 8
  • Production – 8

Overall – 8.60