Houston, Texas-based Distartica is a Power Trio with the drummer as the lead vocalist. Interesting trivia; he’s blind and rocks harder than you. Never one’s to shy away from difficult topics, they cover current events, various controversies, and mortality in their lyrics, making sure to address topics that are sure to get a reaction and make the listener think. In Silence They Scream is their sophomore effort, following 2017’s notable debut, In Flames We Rise. After more than a decade of honing their craft, you will hear clear, concise music and complex, coherent lyrics that are sure to catch your ear and get fully embedded in your brain.


Band Members:

  • Alex Paxtor – Lead Guitar/Backing Vocals
  • Alexander Dodd – Bass
  • Carlos Vasquez – Drums/Lead Vocals

September 26, 2023 – Self Released


  1. God of All Gods
  2. Realms of Eternal Doom
  3. Absolution
  4. Brains Scattered Blood Spattered
  5. In Silence They Scream
  6. Immortals
  7. Eternal Guardian
  8. Ascension 1213
  9. Time Vortex
  10. Fragments Of A Past Existence

A good Thrash Metal album often starts with an epic intro and this is no exception. “God Of All Gods” is over seven minutes, the first part of which is heavily influenced by Spanish/Latin American guitar work done in a semi-Flamenco style before the electric guitar crashes in with a heavy, melodic riff. One of the more impressive feats of this band is the drummer doing lead vocals while performing complex patterns with both feet and hands. Remember, he is BLIND! Absolute respect for the skill it takes for Carlos to do this.

The opening for “Realms Of Eternal Doom” makes me admire Carlos even more. That drum work is freaking good, and it is paired with some killer bass work from Alexander. He lays a masterful foundation for the guitar riff and leads/fills. Alex does some excellent wailing lead and solo playing on this track, weaving the guitar around and through the rhythm without overpowering it, a delicate skill. Skirting over near-pinch harmonics, you catch tastes of Groove Metal in his playing.

Vocally, Carlos ranges closer to Tom Araya and Chuck Billy, going harsher on the voice. You do not get any of the Hetfield singing or Belladonna high notes. While I do hear Bay Area Thrash influences, I also hear some Sepultura bringing in the South American sound. Part of what is so fun about Thrash Metal is the diversity of styles from Bay Area to Brazilian to European and Canadian. Distartica hints at all of these within their music showing a well-rounded listening history. Want to hear multiple influences that prove this? Just listen to the title track, “In Silence They Scream.”

Another pleasant addition to this record is “Eternal Guarding,” a one-minute Melodic instrumental that gives you a short break to catch your breath before slamming you right back down with “Ascension 1213.” That little breather gives you just enough time to reset and slam some fluids before getting back into the pit. That might be a lifesaver at the live shows.

Four of the tracks on this disc top seven minutes, two more are over six. Distartica likes to write longer, complex songs that have time to showcase the ability to shift phrases and use extended solos and intricate lead work all through the song. They use the time well and keep the tracks interesting and innovative. All three musicians are very skilled at their individual instruments and it shows on every song.

MZ Ratings:


  •             Guitars – 9
  •             Rhythms – 9
  •             Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 8

Overall – 8.80