Xephyr formed in 2010 on the outskirts of Toronto, a.k.a. The Badlands, eh. They’ve been a trio and a quartet and had several different formations. They’ve also worked to establish themselves as a hard-working band that can put out both great records and take those songs on tour to rock the fans through the night. With two guitarists and three voices, including a good mix of clean and harsh, they have the ability to craft big songs with multiple layers of sound. Sticking mostly to Hard Rock, they do venture over a few lines into Metal sub-genres just to add a little spice to the mix. Most songs hit the radio-friendly time, but a few come in over six minutes, giving Xephyr some space to work with more lengthy compositions and flex a little more musical muscle.

Band Members:

  • Lionel Greson – Vocals/Rhythm Guitars
  • Jacob Stellato – Vocals/Bass
  • Alex Stojanovic – Drums
  • Zakk Scott – Lead Guitars/Screaming Vocals

Release Date:

January 12, 2024

Self Released


  1. Shot In The Head   
  2. Remember   
  3. Wanted You To Know   
  4. I’m Here For Blood   
  5. Figured You Out   
  6. Wrench   
  7. The Disparation   
  8. Realignment   
  9. Morning Sun-Callahan   
  10. Goodbye To Love   
  11. Pulse   
  12. Worlds Go Dark   
  13. Insane   
  14. Back For Good

One of the first things I notice with this band is the distinct Hard Rock sound they go for. “Shot In The Head” has a classic riff structure that could be from any Hard Rock era. The guitar work would be just as comfortable in the 1980s as it is right now. The chorus has a great backing vocal line and is guaranteed to get the crowd singing along with them, fists raised in the air. The drop for the bridge, followed by a nice breakdown elevates the song as it drives into the dueling guitar solos.

Another thing that stands out throughout the entire album is the band’s ability to use multiple vocalists. Two clean and one screaming vocalist allow them to craft some interesting layers in many of the songs. Three different tones give the songs a more unique flair than many of the groups out today. Their rhythms are solid, giving plenty of support to the creative vocal melodies.

Each of the songs has a distinct sound; riff, rhythm, and vocal lines, yet they all have some similarities. There are bridges or breakdowns in almost all tracks, vocal harmonies all over the place, etc. This gives the album a very cohesive feel. All the songs sound like they belong together. I don’t know if the album was all written at the same time, but the consistency of the compositions makes it feel like it was. Like with any album containing this many tracks (14 is a lovely number!), there are outliers, but the overall groove of the album is really solid.

Xephyr is coming up on 15 years of existence and it shows. Despite the fluctuations in personnel, they’ve created a solid sound that is distinctive and well-rehearsed. The mix is solid, the playing is comfortable and fluid. Overall, this is a really good record with a lot to offer.

MZ Ratings:


  •             Guitars – 9
  •             Rhythms – 9
  •             Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 9

Overall – 9.00