Spanish four-piece Speed/Thrash Metal band In Vain formed in 2003. In that time, they have released six full-length albums with Back To Nowhere being the latest. To keep the fans on their toes, they add elements of Power and Progressive Metal to make sure there is plenty of intrigue and excitement to keep you hooked. Heavenly Heavy rhythms pair up with intricate guitar leads, furious riffs, and soaring vocals to create an intense sound capable of wearing you out by the time you get to the end of the album. In Vain brings the 80s into modern times with a wonderful combination of influences and innovation that never fails to excite the senses.

Band Members:

  • Daniel Cordón – Vocals/Guitars
  • Julio Abadía – Lead Guitars
  • Mario Arredondo – Bass
  • Teo Seoane – Drums

Release Date:

February 8, 2024 – Fighter Records


  1. Story Of A Lie
  2. For The Fallen
  3. The Force Of Thunder
  4. Never Live Again
  5. The Blind Man
  6. Metal Enlightenment
  7. Days Of Glory
  8. Back To Nowhere
  9. The Last Breath Of Freedom
  10. Dreaming Awake
  11. Sacred Bond

In Vain is one of those Metal bands that fuses styles and sub-genres beautifully. “Story Of A Lie” fades in and you immediately hear the Power and Melodic Metal influences in the way they layer the guitar leads over the riff. Then, the first verse starts and you get the heavily distorted voice over the Thrash Metal rhythm, followed by more Melodic Metal and some Speed Metal elements in the chorus coupled with cleaner vocals. The occasional belted note from Daniel adds a touch of complexity to the composition that is very welcome. They manage to seamlessly blend all of this into one cohesive, coherent track.

Most of the songs fall in the three-minute range. Nine of the eleven tracks are under five minutes. It is fairly obvious In Vain likes to keep their songs concise and tight, like “Metal Enlightenment,” a three-and-a-half-minute song that blasts out of the gate and races from start to finish. The vocals are even more impressive on this track with the layering of the lead and the backing vocals beefing up the pre-chorus and chorus. The verses have a single voice, adding a killer contrast to the sections with the added voices. There is a lot of thought put into how the vocals are presented and how they tie into the instrumentation.

“Days Of Glory” has more of a Melodic appeal than the more Thrash/Speed Metal sound of “Metal Enlightenment.” Please understand, that “Days Of Glory” also has heavier sections, but the Melodic passages are a fantastic offset to the heaviness. In Vain is a multi-faceted beast that is capable of performing a blended, Crossover Metal that spans generations of music as well as styles of Metal. The music is modern, yet also timeless. It’s like the songs have a “Sacred bond” with the past and the present.

I appreciate what In Vain has accomplished with this record. The fusion of the different sub-genres the different ways they blend and mix those styles together and the smooth transitions between styles create a really nice dish. Their recipe for Metal Smorgasbord sits well on the palette, allowing you to savor everything individually or as an 11-course meal.

MZ Ratings:


  •             Guitars – 9
  •             Rhythms – 9
  •             Vocals – 9
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 9

Overall – 9.00