Masser, the brainchild of Gideon Waxman, former drummer of the UK metalcore band Familiar Spirit, is known for its unique blend of dark folk-tinged layers, rich sonic textures, and immersive soundscapes. Drawing inspiration not only from the realms of metal but also from video game and film soundtracks, such as the Elder Scrolls video game series and Lord of the Rings, Masser’s music is influenced by renowned composers like Jeremy Soule, Hans Zimmer, and James Newton Howard. The Forlorn Path is the latest offering, scheduled to release on February 2, 2024. This album promises to take listeners on an immersive journey filled with driving guitars, catchy hooks, soaring melodies, and haunting atmospheres, all woven into dynamic soundscapes.

Band Members:

  • Gideon Waxman – Multi-Instrumentalist/Singer/Lyricist

Release Date:

February 2, 2024



  1. The Forlorn Path
  2. Creed Of A Worshipped Weapon
  3. Hour Of The Wolf
  4. Through The Mist
  5. Guardian

From the very beginning, starting with “The Forlorn Path,” this project seems to have an almost chaotic blend of styles. You’ll hear Metalcore, Nu-Metal, Orchestral, and Death metal influences. The clean and harsh vocals trading off are one of the newer trends in metal. While that has existed for over a decade, the popularity has blossomed in the last 5-10 years. The intro is a haunting melody that uses heavy keyboards that are then overtaken by a hearty bass phrase coupled with a massive guitar riff. Those end up balancing in the mix, creating a sonic tension between the dark and light tones. This is reflected in the vocals with the trade-off between the clean and harsh voices.

This pattern of dark and light mixing flows through the entire EP. The keyboards range from eerie and haunting melodies to light, ambient tones used to lift the mood. This weaving of darkness and light, heard in every aspect of the music, makes it sound like yin and yang are forming a harmonic relationship within the compositions. At times, this is soothing, yet it inspires an almost dreadful feeling at other times. I do enjoy this dichotomy at most times, but I also end up a bit uncomfortable at other times.

I feel hope in the despair, longing in the loneliness. It sounds like this album is about personal struggles, trudging through despite fear and shame, and coming out on the other end with battle scars, but stronger for the experience. I have no clue if this is what Masser intended the outcome to be, I can only say what I feel after listening to this for about three hours straight. I haven’t fully resolved everything I feel from hearing this album, but that is okay. I don’t have to solve everything at once. I’ll have to revisit this to see how I feel listening again at a later date. Either way, I’m drawn to this record.

MZ Ratings:


  •             Guitars – 8
  •             Rhythms – 8
  •             Vocals – 8
  • Songwriting – 9
  • Production – 8

Overall – 8.20